Clearing the cupboards!

It’s my last opportunity to clear cupboards, drawers and email inboxes. In September, I’ll be at Begbrook Primary Academy in Bristol, teaching Year 6 – after 11 years at King’s Oak Academy, a secondary.

My intention is to blog weekly, or bi-weekly, posting work and details of our activities and approaches to learning. I hope that secondary colleagues will find it useful. I’ll be posting up a selection of content, hopefully covering all the curriculum areas regularly. 

The work will be anonymous, and I’ll post levels if I’m feeling brave!

I’m under no illusions – I know that I’ll be the one learning the most this year, both in terms of curriculum content, and in the different approaches to learning and assessment. I’m hopeful that there are secrets to be gleaned, about how children transfer learning, and what we can do at secondary level to make that happen more effectively.

My first actions have been to start increasing staff knowledge of KS2, by getting into classes and seeing Key Stage 2 at work. Once I’m at Begbrook, I will be in a better position to raise awareness of curriculum coverage, among my colleagues at secondary level.

I’m also really interested in the transition to secondary level, and ‘the dip’: is it real? How much of it can be avoided? At KOA, we’ve increased the amount of transition time our Year 6 students get before coming here, which has been really successful, and hopefully starts to alleviate some of the mechanical worries about new routines, and finding places. But that’s just one aspect of it.

So, anyway, that’s it for now – see you in September!

Lucy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clearing the cupboards!

  1. Lana Crosbie says:

    You’ll be great and I’m sure when you return the following September, I FOR ONE, cant wait to see how we can all embed some of your fab knowledge in KOA practice. xx

    This is what I was supposed to write…anyroom in your year 6 class misss!?

  2. Lee Bowles says:

    I’m following you Lucy, so I will know what you’re getting up to 🙂
    Have a fab summer and keep in touch

    Lee x x

  3. Ben Rhodes says:

    I’m really looking forwards to seeing how this project pans out Lucy, you are a real trail blazer and we must ensure we benefit from your work. I know I’m going through my cupboards at home looking for my dancing shoes for when I visit!

Leave a comment